2022 GSK Award for Research Excellence: nominations now open!

Posted: 10 June 2022
Nominations Close: 29 July 2022

The GSK Award for Research Excellence (ARE) is one of the most prestigious and longstanding awards available to the Australian medical research community. Among the previous recipients of the GSK Award for Research Excellence are some of Australia’s most noted scientific researchers, including Professor Tony Basten (1980), Dr Bruce Kemp (1993), Professor Kathryn North (2011), and Professors Georgina Long and Richard Scolyer (2018).

Since 1980, the annual GSK ARE has been awarded to individuals or two-person teams with very significant existing track records who are well placed to further their contributions in the near future. A $100,000 grant to the winner(s)’ institution supports this goal.

The judging criteria are weighted as follows:

  • 50% – potential for the nominee’s contribution to science to directly or indirectly lead to the improvement of human health
  • 30% – potential for the nominee to continue to make research contributions in the field of human health
  • 20% – nominee’s accomplishments based on academic and employment record, research grants and awards received, cited publications, and other examples of research productivity

To nominate someone please complete the 2022 GSK ARE Nomination Form

For further information about the nominations process please view the Terms of Reference.

Nominations close at midnight on Friday 29 July 2022. The award will be presented at the Research Australia Awards Night, Thursday 8 December 2022 in Melbourne.

Please direct queries regarding the award to are.arenominations@gsk.com


News & opinion

Member Directory