BioMelbourne Network
Progressing BioIndustry

Melbourne Biotechnology Precincts

Worldwide, biotechnology firms cluster around research and development (R&D) institutes. Melbourne, the capital of Victoria, is no exception. The city has six key biotechnology precincts - four in human health and two focused on agricultre and animal sciences. All are physically close enough to be an easy drive from each other and collaborate on projects yet far enough to develop competitive individual strengths. Collectively, these research precincts have the highest level of research spend and granted patents in Australia.

Visit the links below to learn more about the organisations involved within each of the six key biotechnology precincts in Melbourne, Victoria.

The Bio21 Cluster

The Bio21 Cluster links 21 research organisations to support shared infrastructure and expertise in biotechnology.  The project has established the Bio21 Institute at the University of Melbourne (encompassing medical, agricultural and environmental expertise) and six collaborative infrastructure projects providing access to platform technologies such as high-throughput chemical screening, bioresources, informatics and protein crystallisation.

Founding Members

Joining Members

Associate Members

Parkville Precinct

This research centre is the major precinct in Australia for medical and bioscientific research, education, clinical practice, production of pharmaceuticals and biotechnology products.

Founding Members

There are a further 12 Joining and Associate Members including:

Alfred Medical Research and Education Precinct

The Alfred Medical Research and Education Precinct in Prahran is an integrated biomedical research and development centre that brings together two major medical research institutes - the Baker Heart Research Institute and the Macfarlane Burnet Centre - with the Alfred Hospital and the Monash University School of Medicine to share infrastructure and undertake collaborative research.

Monash Health Research Precinct (MHRP)

The Monash precinct in Clayton provides a focus for biomedical and other biotechnology research. Organisations involved in the cluster include:

The region has a number of leading science and technology-oriented manufacturing companies and will be the home of the Australian Synchrotron.


The Werribee Technology Precinct  is principally focused on animal and food research. It incorporates mixed research and industry hubs of excellence in biotechnology, including veterinary applications, agribusiness and environmental sustainability. It has links to:


The Bundoora Plant Bioscience Precinct hosts La Trobe University, La Trobe Research and Development Park and RMIT University's Bundoora campus. It includes a range of organisations, spanning industry sectors such as:

Austin Biomedical Alliance Precinct

The Biomedical Alliance aims to foster closer links between researchers and clinicians to achieve better health outcomes through national and international collaboration. It brings together world-class research groups including those from:

A $320 million redevelopment of the Austin and Repatriation Precinct was announced by the State Government in August 2000, with $15 million in matching funds for redevelopment of the research centre.